Lord Mayor Selection Committee

Wednesday 17 May 2023

PRESENT:

Councillor Evans OBE, in the Chair. Councillors Mrs Aspinall, Mrs Beer, Evans OBE, Lugger, Murphy, Patel and Smith.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Bingley and Shayer.

Also in attendance: Ross Jago (Head of Governance, Performance and Risk), Maddie Halifax (CEX/Electoral Services Practice Manager) and Hannah Whiting (Democratic Advisor).

The meeting started at 10.01 am and finished at 10.12 am.

Note: At a future meeting, the committee will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

10. **Declarations of Interest**

No declarations of interest were made by Councillors in accordance with the code of conduct.

11. Appointment of Chair

Councillor Andy Lugger proposed that in the absence of Councillor Richard Bingley (Chair) and Councillor Mark Shayer (Vice Chair), that Councillor Tudor Evans OBE should chair the meeting. This was seconded by Councillor Pat Patel.

The Committee <u>agreed</u> the appointment of Councillor Tudor Evans OBE as the Chair for the meeting.

12. Minutes

The Committee <u>agreed</u> the minutes of the meeting held on 10 February 2023 were confirmed as a correct record.

13. **Lord Mayoralty 2023/24**

The Committee noted that Councillor Jonathan Drean, who the Committee had agreed to recommend as Lord Mayor for 2023/24 to City Council, had been unsuccessful in the local elections on 4 May 2023 and was no longer a Councillor. Therefore, a new nominee needed to be sought.

The Committee sought nominations for the Lord Mayoralty 2023/24. Having been nominated by Councillor Andy Lugger, and seconded by Councillor Pat Patel, it was

<u>agreed</u> to extend a cordial invitation to Councillor Mark Shayer to accept the Office of the Lord Mayor for the following municipal year.

For (6) Councillors Mrs Aspinall, Evans, Lugger, Murphy, Patel and Smith.

Against (0)

Abstain (1) Councillor Mrs Beer.

Absent/Did Not Vote (0)

Councillors waited upon Councillor Mark Shayer who, on arrival, expressed his appreciation for the nomination, which he was very happy and grateful to accept.

The Committee <u>agreed</u> to recommend to City Council that it approved the appointment of Councillor Mark Shayer as Lord Mayor for the 2023/24 municipal year.

For (6) Councillors Mrs Aspinall, Evans, Lugger, Murphy, Patel and Smith.

Against (0)

Abstain (1) Councillor Mrs Beer.

Absent/Did Not Vote (0)